hhc age limits by state

How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy HHC?

HHC (or hexahydrocannabinol) doesn’t have any more than 0.3% “active” tetrahydrocannabinol, HHC is known to have a psychoactive effect on the cannabinoid brain receptors—primarily the CB1/CB2 receptors. Beasue HHC is considered to be an “alternative” cannabinoid product, some states are legally allowing the sale of it. While others are turning it into a Schedule I to Schedule III drug. And other states put age restrictions on it (anywhere from 18 years of age to 21 years of age).

Key takeaways

  • At a minimum, you need to be 18-years-old or older to purchase most HHC products both online and through retail locations in states where HHC is legal.
  • Some online retailers, stores, and states are putting 21-years of age limitations on the purchase of HHC products.

How old do you have to be to buy HHC?

Laws around HHC (or hexahydrocannabinol) are changing very rapidly. Due to the popularity of the substance and its increased ability to block the CB1/CB2 receptors in brain—many users compare the effects of HHC to that very similar to recreational cannabis sativa or cannabis indica (where the tetrahydrocannabinol—or THC—is a much higher percentage).

Since there is less than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (or THC) inside of HHC products, it technically falls within the 2018 Farm Bill. But, each state has been putting its own regulations on the product very rapidly.

For instance, in Illinois—you have to be 21 years of age to purchase. While in a neighboring state like Indiana, some retailers put an “18 years or older” age restriction on all CBD or “alternative” cannabinoid products.

Usually, you need to be at least 21 years of age to purchase HHC. In some states, where it’s unregulated, a retailer may put an “18 years or older” age limit on it to protect themselves against any liability. The reality is that you won’t know until you attempt to go purchase your product from a local retailer.

Online retailers and age restrictions of HHC

Similar to selling tobacco products online—most online retailers are setting a minimum age limit to 18 years of age or older. With some putting that higher up to 21 years of age and older. Check with the stores online policies and terms and conditions to learn about their choice of age restrictions.

Related HHC resources:

Back to blog